Don’t Dial and Drive (Even When Stopped)

17 Apr

License plates are supposed to be flat, right?

“Mom, can you have Dad come pick me up?”

“I can do it, why Dad?”

“Because you crashed your car today.”

“I didn’t crash it. My car is fine….but, how did you know I had an accident?”

“Our bus was parked right next to you.”

Awesome.

Let’s just say I’m a great example of what not to do.  Of course, my car is fine – the poor lady whose day I ruined has to get a new backend.  Thankfully she was not upset or mean, though she had every right to be.  Her tiny BMW Z3 was no match for my obnoxious 2005 Suburban.  I am such a loser – seriously, don’t dial and drive. I was at a dead stop, not even driving – I just thought the light had turned green.  Man, was I wrong.

So this is a teaching moment to share with my boys about how important it is to stay focused on what you’re doing and do it right.  Otherwise the entire Honors Band gets to talk about you the rest of the day.

Have a favorite ‘teaching moment?’  Share it in the comments so I don’t feel all alone.

Parenting Tip:  Mistakes are just valuable teaching moments.  Especially your own.

[Colossians 3:23   Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men…]

9 Responses to “Don’t Dial and Drive (Even When Stopped)”

  1. Billie Martin April 19, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    It is O.K. sweetheart. You werent hurt and that is the important thing. Makes me feel better about some of the things I do. Happy you are o.k. Sorry Son had to see it. He probably loved it!!!!!!!!. Love you Billie

  2. carmen perez April 17, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Its not really funny, but its funny!

    Mom

  3. Anonymous April 17, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    That’s not funny, but it is! Love you! Mom

  4. Anonymous April 17, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Teaching Moment: Lecturing on not texting and driving. During this stern conversation, I hear the magical “glass strum” signaling, what I am sure is a life-threatening text”, so I secretly check my phone while driving, keeping it well hidden from the back seat where my two beasts are sitting. It is my oldest (maybe wisest?) beast, texting me to say “Quit Checking Your Texts Mom”

    • survivingmyboyz April 17, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      I’ve had people hit me at lights because they were too focused on the light turning green, but it didn’t. separate turn lights get me though. I can’t tell you how many times I almost pressed petal to the medal just to realize, thankfully in time, that the light that had turned green was not mine.

      • Bringing Up Beasts April 17, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

        I think that is what happened, I saw the arrow and not the real light. I was too jumpy – no excuses though. I chose poorly.

    • survivingmyboyz April 17, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      BTW ^That’s awesome!

    • Bringing Up Beasts April 17, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      I like him. He belongs in my family.

    • carmen perez April 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      I love it! uh huh!!

      MOM

Share your comments, thoughts or like experiences here...

Living In His Lane

Life with Jesus in Ministry, engagement, marriage, and chaos.

How NOT to Kill your Parents

... because you know you love 'em, and murder is really bad.

College Football Bowl Predictions

Projecting the winning teams and point spreads for the top bowl games

survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

