A Boy’s Bathroom: Lessons, Myths and Mysteries

10 Jul

Sitting between both sinks, this probably has no impact other than a false sense of security for me.

My dog needed a bath badly and with rain in the forecast, I decided to use my boys’ shower as an alternate location.  While spending quality time in there today, I realized there are some good decisions I made when we remodeled that bathroom and some decisions that just didn’t matter.

One of the best things I did was to tile around the toilet about four feet up the walls.  Over time, wallpaper and paint simply don’t survive the corrosive properties of uric acid.  This also contributed to the decision of selecting larger tiles.

Large Tiles + Small Grout Lines = Less Scrubbing

Plus, I have a child prone to nose bleeds and the other child doesn’t see an issue with chunks of toothpaste sitting on the ground or globs of hair gel either, so larger tiles served to combat these issues along with the corrosion factor aforementioned.

Now a big lesson learned, since we are on the topic of corrosion, is the trash can.  It took three tries before I finally determined the best material for a waste receptacle would be heavy plastic.  The first bin was a stylish silver material that quickly fell victim to corrosion.  Basically, no metal or aluminum materials belong near a boy’s toilet.  The second victim was acrylic.  No issues with corrosion there, but being a frosted color all nature of yellow-orange hues and splatters were easily evident.  So the large, plastic black bin is the winner — although for some reason, no matter how large the bin, trash seems to gravitate to the floor instead.

An easily accessible hamper is a must.

Gravity – yes, one mystery of the boy’s bathroom.  It’s not just trash.  It’s towels and clothes too.   The pull of gravity just seems to be stronger in the bathroom.  Towels are not able to hang on towel racks for very long and clothes sort of jump out of the very easy to access hamper onto the floor.  Maybe the tiles I selected have a magnetic property that attracts fabric?  Something to test, I suppose.  But that wouldn’t explain the trash not making it into the wide-mouth bin.   One thing’s for sure, I won’t have to worry about my boys becoming NBA players.

Of all the things we did in the bathroom, I think the do-over I would take is the bench in the shower.   Talk about unnecessary and just an invitation to waste water – I won’t go on about this here, but invite you to check out a past blog on what can happen when you mix hot water with mornings.

At 11 and 14, I love that they still have a rubber ducky in there.

I could naturally go on about boys and their bathrooms – soap dispensers never get refilled, empty toilet paper rolls, remnants in the sinks, etc.  But the focus of this is the remodel, and so I’ll end on a positive note that all three of my boys are gone for the week (husband in that count).  So the bathroom is tidy and nice for now – even after bathing my dog in there.  The towels are neatly hung, hampers are empty, trash contained and soap dispensers are full.  At least until Friday, when they all return.

Parenting Tip: No matter how easy you make things, you’ll likely have to continue teaching (aka nagging) your son to do the obvious until they marry — then it becomes the wife’s job.

[Proverbs 8:32-33  Now then, my sons, listen to me; blessed are those who keep my ways. Listen to my instruction and be wise; do not ignore it.]

3 Responses to “A Boy’s Bathroom: Lessons, Myths and Mysteries”

  1. taurusmom18 July 19, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    WHY CAN’T THEY HANG UP THE TOWELS! The clothes on the floor? Yeah, it’s like rubbing salt in the wound when the laundry basket is literally two feet from said discarded clothing. I have a daughter and another girl on the way. I am hoping they don’t learn from their father in this regard!

    http://taurusmom18.wordpress.com/

  2. carmen perez July 10, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    I agree Billie. But enjoy the nice and clean while it lasts. I was admiring the remodel job. Who is your contractor?

  3. Anonymous July 10, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Sweetheart, enjoy the rest of your week with everything nice and clean.but brace yourself, they will be back. Just remember all the Love you get from them. They are a real blessing and we all love them.( all three of them).Love you Billie

Share your comments, thoughts or like experiences here...

Living In His Lane

Life with Jesus in Ministry, engagement, marriage, and chaos.

How NOT to Kill your Parents

... because you know you love 'em, and murder is really bad.

College Football Bowl Predictions

Projecting the winning teams and point spreads for the top bowl games

survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

