Cereal box bias?

18 Jul

Do these look empty?

If there are two boxes of the same cereal in the pantry, one box is open and one isn’t, which do you use up first?  Apparently, if you are a beast, you bypass the already opened box and open a new one.  Huh?

I thought it was just my kids, just my husband, just my house.  But I’ve learned this phenomena extends across the Atlantic. You see, our family has been hosting some fine young lads from the U.K. who are here coaching football (a.k.a. soccer camps).  Being a grand hostess, I noticed the cereal supply was getting low and replenished with backup boxes.  I strategically placed the already opened boxes in front of the new ones.

Then, today as I entered my pantry I saw it – the ‘old’ ones bypassed and the new ones put to use.   Assuming the old ones must have been empty, I pulled the boxes out to put into the recycle bin.  But wait — there was still cereal inside…. I kind of grew used to this with my beasts, but didn’t think that grown young men with manners and the ability to brew a fine cup of tea would be like this.   But it’s true, American or English — boys will be beasts, it’s just their nature.

Parenting Tip:  A hungry beast has no ability to reason, think logically or practically until they have fed.  And even then, it remains questionable.

[Genesis 25:29-34   29Once when Jacob was cooking some stew, Esau came in from the open country, famished. 30 He said to Jacob, “Quick, let me have some of that red stew! I’m famished!” (That is why he was also called Edom.) 31 Jacob replied, “First sell me your birthright. ” 32 “Look, I am about to die,” Esau said. “What good is the birthright to me?” 33 But Jacob said, “Swear   to me first.” So he swore an oath to him, selling his birthright to Jacob. 34 Then Jacob gave Esau some bread and some lentil stew.   He ate and drank, and then got up and left. So Esau despised his birthright.]

3 Responses to “Cereal box bias?”

  1. carmen perez July 20, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Too funny! Well at least they can brew a fine cup of tea……

  2. taurusmom18 July 19, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    HAHAHA! I thought only my sisters did that! I always finished the open box first (unless it was a cereal I didn’t like and Cinnamon Toast Crunch was the unopened box!!) and couldn’t stand it when they opened the new boxes first. I must admit I often dug the oat clusters out of the cereals that had them when I was younger. It’s an unexplained phenomenon!

    http://taurusmom18.wordpress.com/

  3. Anonymous July 18, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    Bet they thought the opened ones were stale. HA HA Well, thats all I could come up with. Does kinda make you wonder, doesnt it?Love you, Billie

Share your comments, thoughts or like experiences here...

Living In His Lane

Life with Jesus in Ministry, engagement, marriage, and chaos.

How NOT to Kill your Parents

... because you know you love 'em, and murder is really bad.

College Football Bowl Predictions

Projecting the winning teams and point spreads for the top bowl games

survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

