I can dish it out, but…

30 Sep

What I could be eating right now.

I’m kind of hurting tonight.  I put myself in a situation I regret.   I threatened my beasts with a punishment that I’d like to take back – but I had to see it through.  They really weren’t doing anything all that bad – it was just wrestling and yelling and screaming.  It was starting to drive me crazy. And in all honesty, it was a stall tactic by them to avoid the responsibilities they had (homework and chores).   So I let my emotions get the best of me and I threatened, “If you don’t stop, I am going to box up all the cookies I just made and give them to the Taylors!”

Well guess what – they didn’t stop.  Not even after I did the countdown maneuver.  “Five, four, three, two…”  And when I reached “One!”  I knew this was a bad deal.  But I had to see it through.  My younger beast quickly lamented, “He is the one that wouldn’t stop – I should still get some.”  To which I oh so wisely replied, “An entire family is always affected by the poor choices even one member makes.”  Yeah, it sounded good, but deep down I was really regretting those words coming out of my mouth and realized I was the one that made the poor choice.

The Taylor’s were just outside our back door using hubby’s tools for a last-minute school project.  So unfortunately, it wasn’t like I had made an empty threat that I couldn’t easily deliver.  I think my beasts  just know how much I love freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, and there was no way I was really giving them all away.  But I did it.  I boxed them up and gave them to my husband with strict orders to give them to The Taylors…   Not before I scarfed one down though.  It was good….

Parenting Tip:  Don’t threaten a punishment or consequence you can’t (or don’t want to) execute.

[Exodus 34:7b  Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children and their children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation.]

2 Responses to “I can dish it out, but…”

  1. Billie Martin October 1, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    You did what you had to do and it is O.K. We all hit a breaking point sometime, Love you Billie

  2. Janet September 30, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Love it, thanks for sharing. Those 2 didn’t mention to Collin and I….hmmmmm;-)

Share your comments, thoughts or like experiences here...

Living In His Lane

Life with Jesus in Ministry, engagement, marriage, and chaos.

How NOT to Kill your Parents

... because you know you love 'em, and murder is really bad.

College Football Bowl Predictions

Projecting the winning teams and point spreads for the top bowl games

survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

