When homework makes you smile

10 Oct

The punchline is monogamy

While helping my baby beast learn his “Word within a Word” list #3 – we covered specific root words, suffixes and prefixes.  To help him along, I oh so cleverly coached him into coming up with words on his own by focusing on the meaning of the root. This way I am sure he understands that ‘neuro’ means nerves, ‘tomy’ means cut, etc.  As we get to ‘poly’, my elder beast chimed in… “like polygamy.”   “Sure,” I said. “Meaning someone who has many spouses or mates.”

We continued on through the list and come upon ‘mono’ meaning one — to which I challenged him, “What is the opposite of polygamy?”  We arrived at ‘monogomy’ and I explained it is when you have one spouse or mate… “Just like your father and I are monogamous.”  To which my baby beast looks over at me and asks, “Are you guys still doing that?”

We both burst out laughing as I brushed past his question and remarked, “Let’s just move on to the next one.”   At least we were laughing together during a homework session, which beats tears or arguments any day.

Parenting Tip:  Instead of saying your child ‘isn’t gifted’ or ‘needs extra help’, my friend taught me to call this type of child ‘my hard worker’ because of the effort put in for each grade.

Genesis 21:6  Sarah said, “God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me.”

2 Responses to “When homework makes you smile”

  1. Billie Martin October 11, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    How Funny !!!!! That was a great lesson and fun for all. Made me laugh. Love Billie

  2. SnapInTime October 10, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Anything that will make us laugh while doing homework is a wonderful thing. 🙂 I have to add though- I love your parenting tip for the day. How true that is (and it can be hard to remember in that light if we aren’t careful.)

Share your comments, thoughts or like experiences here...

Living In His Lane

Life with Jesus in Ministry, engagement, marriage, and chaos.

How NOT to Kill your Parents

... because you know you love 'em, and murder is really bad.

College Football Bowl Predictions

Projecting the winning teams and point spreads for the top bowl games

survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

