Photophobia

30 Oct

No photos please

Around the age of 12, my elder beast became highly sensitive to having his picture taken.  It’s like I was attempting to slap him in the face every time I wanted to take one.  It is still an issue today.  Sometimes he gets really mad and I wonder if there is something supernatural going on?

I know I have Native American in my background but it is so far descended for him that I can’t see his reaction being related to the ancient belief that when a picture is taken a part of their soul is stolen as well?

Or maybe he knows that someday he’ll be really famous and is practicing for the time when he has to avoid the paparazzi?

Or maybe he’s really a vampire… isn’t there something about their image not showing up in photographs?  Oh wait, maybe that is mirrors – nevermind.

Anyway, when I learned he and his buddies were dressing up as the Ghostbusters and Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man for Halloween at school,  I had to get a picture.  When I asked him, “How am I going to get into the band hall and get your picture as a group?”  He replied, “You’re not!”  So as you can imagine, it was time for mommy to get creative.

Usually the only way I can get a picture of him is when he is asleep or I use a high-powered zoom lens from a great distance.  Even then, he seems to sense my presence and manages to block the shot. So, I decided to put out a bounty.  I sent his buddy a message saying I’d buy him a Freebirds burrito or gift card to IHOP for a group picture of the foursome in costume.

Man was that ever easy.  I got the picture, delivered the IHOP gift card to my source and am not sure my beast even knows.

Parenting Tip: Become Facebook friends with your kid’s friends.

[Genesis 9:6b  …for in the image of God has God made man.]

5 Responses to “Photophobia”

  1. shelby December 11, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    And guaranteed it wasn’t nearly such a big deal to the friend than to your own beast. LOL!

  2. Carmen Perez November 1, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    That is so funny! Love the picture.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Anonymous October 31, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    I laughed out loud at this one! Boy do I have the same issues! Thanks for the tip!!! 🙂

  4. Anonymous October 30, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    IHOP giftcard – that is awesome! Love the picture. I can not get over how grown up he is -he needs to stop that. Gabe turned 9 yesterday (still single digits) and definitely does not let me take his picture unless it is in his hockey uniform.

  5. Billie Martin October 30, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Girl, you are smart…. Just proves:it isnt what you know, It is who you know..And most of the time bribes with food “WORKS” GOOD WORK> CUTE PICTURE .Love ya Billie

Share your comments, thoughts or like experiences here...

Living In His Lane

Life with Jesus in Ministry, engagement, marriage, and chaos.

How NOT to Kill your Parents

... because you know you love 'em, and murder is really bad.

College Football Bowl Predictions

Projecting the winning teams and point spreads for the top bowl games

survivingmyboyz

tales from a stay-at-home mom of four boys

